Guidelines on Alternate Nomenclature for the Degree Program

Provisions/Conditions for Alternate Nomenclature for the Degree Program

  1. Government regulations prevent the schools from employing the recommended nomenclature.
  2. Provision for alternate nomenclature for the degree program with the same content (e.g., BA in Christian Education, BA in Religious Education, BA in Christian Studies, BA in Theology, etc)
  3. The nomenclature employed should reflect the history or policies of the schools offering the degree programs.
  4. The degree program must have enough number of students enrolled.
  5. The degree program should include the following:

a. Purpose of the Degree
b. Goal of the Program
c. Expectations/Learning Outcomes
d. Curriculum
e. Duration
f. Admission
g. Faculty
h. Library

6. Degree programs shall be approved by the Board of Trustees upon the recommendation of the Accreditation Commission in accordance with the approved procedures and standards.

The Recommended Nomenclature

1. Baccalaureate Program

1. Ministerial Leadership: Bachelor of Theology

1.2. General Theological Education: Bachelor of Arts in Religion, BA in Christian Education, Bachelor of Arts [in various concentrations/tracts]

2. Basic Master’s Degree Programs for Pastoral/Ministerial Leadership

2.1. Ministerial Leadership I: Master of Divinity (M.Div)/Bachelor of Divinity (B.D.)
 2.2. Ministerial Leadership II:
        Category I: Master of Ministry/ Master in Pastoral Studies
        Category II: MA [in various concentrations/tracts]

3. Master’s Degree Programs for General Theological Studies

MA in [Religious Studies]
Master of [Theological Studies]

4. Advanced Program for Theological Research and Teaching

Master of Theology (MTheol)

5. Advanced Programs for Pastoral/Ministerial Leadership

Doctor of Ministry (DMin)

6. Advanced Theological Research and Teaching

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) and Doctor of Theology (DTheol)