You are currently viewing FTESEA-ATESEA Team visit to the 12 CTEs

FTESEA-ATESEA Team visit to the 12 CTEs

FTESEA-ATESEA Team visit to the 12 CTEs

FTESEA and ATESEA jointly organized a visit to the twelve (12) Centers for Theological Excellence (CTE) to review the doctoral program of ATU hosted by the centers. Six representatives from ATESEA and six from FTESEA forming six two-person teams were assigned two centers to visit from July 7-11, 2014. During the visit, the teams obtained information regarding each school’s institutional and educational resources sufficient to develop a clear picture of the schools as ATU Centers for Excellence. On the whole, the teams were able to establish a more collegial relationships with the members of the different centers. The visit also provided an opportunity for ATESEA and FTESEA to become more familiar with the nature of the collaborative work between the two institutions. Prior to the actual visits to the centers, the teams met at Trinity Theological College (TCC), Singapore, in the afternoon of July 6 for the orientation. The teams were welcomed by Dr. Ngoei Foong Nghian, Principal, TTC, and Chairperson, ATESEA Board of Trustees and Dr. Kwok Pui Lan, Vice Chairperson, FTESEA Board of Trustees. Both affirmed the value of partnership of FTESEA and ATESEA in improving the quality of the graduate theological education in Asia, including the development of Asian scholars. Dr. Ruiz led the discussion on the guides for the visit for the centers, while Dr. Limuel Equina shared about the doctoral program of ATESEA Theological Union (ATU) and its purpose and requirements for the doctoral study. After the visit, the teams returned to TCC to discuss the reports and recommendations to the respective boards of FTESEA and ATESEA. The members of the teams were as follows: ATESEA Representatives:

1. Dr. Noriel Capulong, Head of Biblical Studies Dept., Divinity School, Silliman University, Dumaguete City, Philippines 2. Dr. Simon Chow, President, Lutheran Theological Seminary, Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong 3. Dr. Kapi Ching, Vice President, Yu-Shan Theological College and Seminary, Taiwan 4. Dr. Tan Kim Huat, Academic Dean and Chen Su Lan Professor of New Testament, Trinity Theological Seminary, Singapore 5. Dr. Samuel Ngun Ling, President, Myanmar Institute of Theology, Seminary Hill, Insein, Singapore 6. Dr. Kung Lap Yan, Professor of Christian Ethics, Director of the Centre for Quality-Life Education, Coordinator of the MTheol and DTheol Program, Divinity School of Chung Chi College, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

FTESEA Representatives:

1. Rev. Dr J. Dorcas Gordon, Principal, and Associate Professor of Biblical Interpretation and Preaching, Knox College, Toronto School of Theology University of Toronto 2. Dr. Jeffrey Kuan, President and Professor of Hebrew Bible, Claremont School of Theology, Claremont, California 3. Dr. Kwok PuiLan, Professor of Christian Theology and Spirituality, Episcopal Divinity School, Cambridge, Massachusetts 4. Dr. Lester Edwin Ruiz, Director, Accreditation and Institutional Evaluation, and Secretary of the Board of Commissioners, The Association of Theological Schools, The Commission on Accrediting, Pittsburgh, PA 5. Dr. Sze-kar Wan, Professor of New Testament, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas, USA 6.Dr. H.S. Wilson, Executive Director, Foundation for Theological Education in South East Asia, USA

Leave a Reply